



# **COUNCIL NEWS**

## University of Adelaide Council meeting held on Monday 17 February 2025

#### **Report from the Chancellor**

The Chancellor reported on recent events she attended including:

- the annual Hawke Lecture by Senator the Hon Penny Wong; and
- the Highly Cited Researchers Celebration.

## Report from the Vice-Chancellor and President

The Vice-Chancellor reported on:

- the successful transfer of employment of professional staff to Adelaide University;
- Adelaide University senior staff appointments;
- reaching the Student Readiness release milestone in the Adelaide University transition plan;
- the University's strong financial performance in 2024;
- Australia Day Honours recognition of 26 members of the University's community and student, Amber Brick-Fabel, as SA Young Australian of the Year 2025;
- staff receiving 2024 Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence, CSL Centenary Fellowship, Chris Powell Medal by the Geological Society of Australia and

2024 University Awards for Outstanding Achievement;

- ARC Discovery Projects, ARC LIEF Scheme and NHMRC grant success; and
- New Colombo Plan Scholarship recipients.

### **Other Reports**

Council considered reports from:

- the Convenors Committee on authorisation to execute the Instrument of Delegation - Payroll; and
- the Integration Management Office on merger progress.

### **Other items**

Council received and discussed the:

- Division of Academic and Student Engagement annual presentation from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic);
- Division of Research and Innovation annual presentation from the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation); and
- Division of University Operations annual presentation from the Chief Operating Officer.

Council noted the:

- South Australian Law Reform Institute's 2023 Annual Report; and
- 150<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebrations Final Report.

Council considered and approved the:

- authority for the Vice-Chancellor to further delegate the power to staff of Adelaide University up to an expenditure limit of \$1m on any single occurrence; and
- appointment to Council of Mr Lachlan Coleman and Prof Joanne Bowen, including Mr Coleman's reappointment to the Risk Committee, and Prof Bowen's re-appointment as Deputy Chair of the People and Culture Committee, each for a two-year term.

## adelaide.edu.au