Programme of the Second CALF

2nd April(Tue.)

10:00-10:30 Opening Ceremony

Chaired by Li Jingze, a noted critic

10:05-10:15 Addressed by Tie Ning, president of CWA

10:15-10:25 Addressed by Australian Ambassador to China

10:25-10:40 Tea break

Panel One: Tradition & Modernity

Chaired by J.M. Coetzee

10:40-10:45 a brief account of Xu Xiaobin by the chair

10:45-11:05 Xu Xiaobin delivering presentation

11:05-11:10 a brief account of Brian Castro by the chair

11:10-11:30 Castro delivering presentation

11:30-11:50 Q & A

11:50-13:00 Lunch Break

13:00-14:50 A visit to the National Museum of Modern Chinese Literature

Panel Two: The Nobel Prize for Literature & its Significance

Chaired by Li Yao/translator of Patrick White

15:00-15:05 a brief account of Coetzee by the chair

15:05-15:25 Coetzee delivering presentation

15:25-15:30 a brief account of Mo Yan by the chair

15:30-15:50 Mo Yan delivering presentation

15:50-16:10 Q & A

16:10-16:30 Tea Break

Panel Three: The Local & the Universal

Chaired by Gail Jones

16:30-16:35 a brief account of Li Er by the chair

16:35-16:55 Li Er delivering presentation

16:55-17:00 a brief account of David Walker by the chair

17:00-17:20 Walker delivering presentation

17:20-17:40 Q & A

18:00-20:00 Reception

3rd April(Wed.)

Panel Four: Cultural Inclusiveness

Chaired by Ye Xin

10:00-10:05 a brief account of Nicholas Jose by the chair

10:05-10:25 Jose delivering presentation

10:25-10:30 a brief account of Liu Zhenyun by the chair

10:30-10:50 Liu Zhenyun delivering presentation

10:50-11:10 Q & A

11:10-13:00 Lunch Break

13:00-14:50 a visit to the Lu Xun Academy of Literature

Panel Five: Literary Forms & Readership

Chaired by Liu Zhenyun/novelist

15:00-15:05 a brief account of Ye Xin by the chair

15:05-15:25 Ye Xin delivering presentation

15:25-15:30 a brief account of Ivor Indyk by the chair

15:30-15:50 Indyk delivering presentation

15:50-16:10 Q & A

16:10-16:30 Tea break

Reading Session

Co-chaired by Coetzee & Mo Yan

16:30-18:00

----Chinese readers: Tie Ning, Liu Zhenyun, Xu Xiaobin & Mo Yan

---- Australian readers: Nicholas Jose, Brian Castro, Gail Jones & Coetzee

Note: 1.Each reader consumes 20 minutes and the chair uses 5 minutes to introduce the reader and the work.

- 2.Coetzee introduces Chinese readers, while Mo Yan introduces
 Australian readers.
- 3. Coetzee & Mo Yan announce the end of the Forum.

Australian Embassy Roundtable

All of the above writers and critics +